Every blog needs a purpose

DSC06160 (2)Every blog needs a purpose, everyone needs something to write about and in my case it is books and holidays. So, here we go, my goal will last a year and the intention is to read 25 books from a fixed list and thoroughly enjoy my holidays.

For the people who would like to know how I complied this list, no I didn’t just random choose books from the internet. Many of these books are books I will have to read for my studies or all time classics that have been on my to read list forever. With exception from John Green who just is an excellent writer.

  1. The age of innocence by Edith Wharton
  2. The great Gatsby by Scott F. Fitzgerald
  3. Jazz by Toni Morrison
  4. Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
  5. Bright Light Big City by Jay McInerney
  6. Angels in America I: Millenium Approaches by Tony Kushner
  7. Motherless Brooklyn by Jonathan Lethem
  8. Slaughterhouse 5 by Kurt Vonnegut
  9. Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow
  10. Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
  11. Bleeding Edge by Thomas Pynchon
  12. Zeitoun by Dave Eggers
  13. Tender is the night by Scott F. Fitzgerald
  14. This is Paradise by Scott F. Fitzgerald
  15. The Short Stories of Scott F. Fitzgerald
  16. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by Scott F. Fitzgerald
  17. The Beautiful and the dammed by Scott F. Fitzgerald
  18. The Love of the Last Tycoon by Scott F. Fitzgerald
  19. The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Walter Scott
  20. The memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Walter Scott
  21. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  22. Dracula by Bram Stoker
  23. Looking for Alaska by John Green
  24. Paper Towns by John Green
  25. Several Spanish short stories by various authors.

Finally, the ever-changing vacation plans. At the moment these are the prospects. These are only the plans for the summer, further plans will develop along the year.

“The past is history, the present is known, but the future will always remain a mystery”

  1. Rome and Korfu
  2. Azores
  3. Málaga

For the curious people, this is what my blog will handle the coming year. See what I think about these  books, will I complete my list or will I succumb under the pressure and not finish it? And what about my travels? What will we visit, what do we recommend and more important will there be any mishaps?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Every blog needs a purpose”

  1. I look forward to seeing what you think of all those books! 🙂 I’ve read some of them of myself, but many of them are still on my to-read list as well.

    Have you ever heard of the website Goodreads? People rate books and post reviews there — you might like that site 🙂

    I hope you succeed with your goals!

    1. Yes, I know about the site. I get why you recommend it, although I am not a fan of the layout of the site I find it quite useful.
      Which book have you already read, if I may ask. And, what was your favourite?

      1. I’ve read The Great Gatsby, part of Anna Karenina, and some Spanish-language short stories (though I have no idea if they are the same ones you have in mind! 🙂 ) I enjoyed The Great Gatsby a lot — I read it in school, and I had a great teacher.

      2. Yea, I can’t wait to read that one. I am postphoning it though because I really want to take the time to enjoy it and thoroughly analyse it, since Fitzgerald as a New York writer is going to be to topic of my Bachelor paper next year.

Leave a Reply

