The Great Gatsby

The Great Gatsby, the book I have been looking forward to.

The last couple of years I have been postponing on reading the Great Gatsby, afraid that it won’t live up to my expectations is an understatement. I am guilty of looking at the film first and thought it would be hard to top that performance. But hey you know what they say; the book is always better than the film.

So here I go, I am finally going to read “The Great Gatsby” and my reading list is filled with Fitzgerald’s books. Mainly because the topic of my final paper is going to be about “Fitzgerald as a New York Writer”. But of all Fitzgerald’s books “The Great Gatsby” is the most famous.

The fact that it is the most famous and widely read book of Fitzgerald is quite surprising though, since in his own time Fitzgerald’s other books had more success. During the years however, “The Great Gatsby” has experienced a growth in its appreciation and now-a-days we can find the book in the top-10 list of many readers.

Therefore, I am going to stop talking and start reading, in order that I can form my own opinion.

One thought on “The Great Gatsby”

Leave a Reply

