The Great Gatsby: Is it already over?

Reading “The Great Gatsby” flew by way to fast. The book is a real page-turner and having finished it the only thought on my mind is; “Is it really over?”. Because, frankly, if the book consisted of a hundred pages more it wouldn’t still be enough.

Yes, I have to admit, I had to cry in the end, already knowing he was going to die. Gatsby is true tragical hero who wasted his live trying to reach an impossible dream. Daisy on the other hand, just like Tom is the wasteful type. They are living the life: they are rich, popular and they have together, but still they are not happy. Daisy suffers from a kind of depression, while Tom drives around with his mistress. Like Nick says; they are careless and troublemakers and whenever it gets too hot under their feet, they just leave everything behind, leaving their mess to someone else.

While reading, I couldn’t help but rooting for Gatsby, who does everything to get the woman of his dreams back. Although he might not be a proper gentlemen in Tom’s terms,  I would prefer Gatsby a thousand times over Tom. Tom is aggressive, looks down on people and is rude.

No, I like to remember the Gatsby  from Nick’s description when meeting him at the party. I mean, what a smile!!!

He smiled understandingly – much more than understandingly. It was one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it, that you may come across four or five times in life. It faced – or seemed to face – the whole eternal world for an instant, and then concentrated on you with an irresistible prejudice in your favour. It understood you just as far as you wanted to be understood, believed in you as you would like to believe in yourself, and assured you that it had precisely the impression of you that, at your best, you hoped to convey” – The Great Gatsby – p32

The book on itself was wonderful, however towards the end I was a bit disappointed. In my opinion the film portrays the disillusionment of Nick way better than the movie. Somehow, the movie just got to me in this part of the plot that the book just doesn’t.

That having said, I have to admit that I loved both the book and the movie. The book is well-written and keeps you interested in the plot at all times. I sure love this book and would certainly recommend it to anyone out there looking for a good read.

Finally, I’d like to finish this post with a nice quote I read in the book that represents New York as a world of possibilities, where dreams still can come through;

The city seen from the Queensboro Bridge is always the city seen for the first time, I its first wild promise of all the mystery and the beauty of the world. […] ‘Anything can happen now that we’ve slid over this bridge’, I thought; ‘anything at all … ” – The Great Gatsby, p44

Leave a Reply

