Angels in America; Millenium Approaches

I am not a fan of reading theatre plays, with the exception of Shakespeare, who, in my opinion,  is utterly brilliant. (And yes I know this is a cliché but it is the truth.) Plays are scripts meant to be transformed into a play, they are not books. The interruptions in order to give stage clues and the way the voice of characters are introduced, no I am not a fan. All these things slow down the reading process and I don’t like it a bit.

That having said, my next book on the TBR list is actually a play: “Angels in America; Millennium Approaches” from Tony Kushner. I never heard  of the guy and only stumbled across the book because it is on our university’s TBR list. However, I am going to keep an open mind and read this play without any prejudice.

The playwright, Tony Kushner, is a successful author who wrote scripts for the theatre as well as the film world and his work “Angels in America” won several awards. In 1993 he won the Pulitzer prize for Drama and the Tony Award for Best Play. And many years later, in 2004, he won an Emmy Award for the same play.  His latest outstanding achievement must be receiving the National Medal of Arts from Barack Obama in 2013.

This week I am going to read said play, which I read is “the first part of an epic drama about America in the ‘80s. Having said this, I still don’t have a clue what it is about. What do the angels refer to? Actual angels? Outstanding citizens? Is the title ironic, or not?

I hope to find all this out while reading the text.

Leave a Reply

